Last viewed 3 days ago

Sokoine University of Agriculture-SUA

Add Favorites

University Summary


Founded in: 1965

Gained University Status in: 1984

Full name: Sokoine University of Agriculture

Acronym: SUA

Region: Morogoro

Former name: Faculty of Agriculture, UDSM
The history of Sokoine University of Agriculture dates back to 1965 when it started as an Agricultural College offering diploma training in the discipline of agriculture.

After the dissolution of the University of East Africa and the consequent establishment of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) in July 1970, the College was transformed into a Faculty of Agriculture of University of Dar Es Salaam (UDSM) and thereby started offering Bachelor of Science in Agriculture.

In 1974, the Division of Forestry was established and hence the faculty was named Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry. The introduction of Bachelor of Veterinary Science in 1976 and the establishment of the Division of Veterinary Science, the Faculty was re-named “Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Sciences”.

Map Location